Blackhawk T-Series L2D vs Uncle Mike's PRO-2 Duty Holsters
On paper these are rivals in the same tier. In practice they are listed for different pistols, so the real comparison is what each tells you to check.
The Blackhawk T-Series L2D is listed for the Sig P320, P250, M17 and M18 family, and the Uncle Mike's PRO-2 for several Glock models; the gun you carry usually decides between them. Confirm each holster's retention level and light compatibility with the maker, because neither listing settles those questions.
Same tier, different guns
If you search for a value-oriented duty holster, these two names come up quickly. Blackhawk's T-Series and Uncle Mike's PRO-2 have both been fixtures of the middle of the duty holster market for a long time, and both appear in our broader coverage of holster retention levels.
A direct head-to-head hits a snag, though. The listings we are working from cover different pistols. The Blackhawk T-Series L2D is listed for the Sig P320, P250, M17 and M18 family, in a hip, right-handed configuration. The Uncle Mike's PRO-2 is listed for the Glock 17, 19, 22, 23, 31, 32 and 36 in a mirage basketweave finish, right-handed. If you carry a Glock, the Blackhawk listing is not for your gun, and vice versa.
So this is less a duel than a pair of checklists.
What the listings say
| Blackhawk T-Series L2D | Uncle Mike's PRO-2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Listed guns | Sig P320, P250, M17, M18 | Glock 17, 19, 22, 23, 31, 32, 36 |
| Style | Hip duty holster | Tactical duty holster, basketweave finish |
| Handedness | Right | Right |
| Retention | "L2D" suggests Level 2 | Check the maker's page |
| Light fit | Not stated | Not stated |
The practical read: both holsters are in the mainstream duty holster mold, and neither listing claims support for a pistol with a light or a red dot. That is not the same as saying they do not support those things, but it means you need to ask.
Retention: what Level 2 means and why to verify
Blackhawk's "L2D" stands for Level 2 Duty. As we explain in our retention levels guide, a Level II holster adds one active retention device on top of passive friction, and makers define the terms themselves. The PRO-2 listing does not state a level, so check Uncle Mike's product page and compare it with what your policy requires.
The point is not to rank the holsters; it is to avoid the common mistake of assuming that the name tells you the retention. Read the spec, then train the draw until the release is automatic.
Lights and optics: the questions neither listing answers
A modern duty pistol often carries a weapon light, a red dot, or both. A duty holster has to retain the whole assembly, which usually means a combination listing. Our light-bearing holsters guide lays out the reasoning: the front of the holster wraps the light, and retention often works off the light body as well as the gun.
For these two holsters:
- If your pistol has no light or optic, either listed holster is a straightforward match for its named guns.
- If your pistol has a light, do not assume. Ask the maker whether a version exists for your light and gun, or look at holsters made for that combination.
- If your pistol has a red dot, confirm the holster clears it. Standard cuts may not.
Finish, wear and how it rides
The PRO-2's basketweave pattern is a cosmetic choice, and some agencies prefer a plain finish for uniform consistency. The Blackhawk is listed as a plain black hip duty holster. Neither tells you anything about durability on its own, and we have no tested data. What does matter over a career:
- Fasteners and screws. Check them periodically and use thread locker where the maker recommends.
- Belt attachment. A holster on a flexible belt moves. Our duty belt guide covers the belt side.
- Wear points. Inspect retention devices, hoods and straps for wear on a schedule.
A decision path
- What pistol do you carry? If it is a Sig P320-family gun, the L2D listing is for you. If it is one of the listed Glocks, the PRO-2 is.
- What does policy require? Retention level, mounting and finish.
- Light and optic? If yes, find a combination-listed holster.
- Right-handed? Both listings are. Left-handed users should search for their own versions.
- Draw test. With an unloaded gun, practice the draw and reholster until the motion is consistent.
Pick this if / pick that if
| Pick the T-Series L2D if | Pick the PRO-2 if |
|---|---|
| You carry a P320, P250, M17 or M18 | You carry one of the listed Glocks |
| You want a Level 2 duty tier | You want a classic tactical-duty look |
| Your gun has no light, or you can confirm light fit | Your gun has no light, or you can confirm light fit |
| Your policy permits a Level 2 holster | You have confirmed its retention level |
When to look elsewhere
If your setup includes a light, an optic, or both, a combination-molded holster is a better foundation than a general duty holster. Our Safariland comparison shows how those listings read.
Changing holsters means retraining
A new holster is a new draw. Even if the retention level is the same, the release locations, the angle of the gun and the way the hood or thumb break operates can differ. If you switch from one of these holsters to the other, or to anything else, treat it as a retraining event.
A sensible plan is to practice the draw and reholster with an unloaded pistol in a safe direction, move to dry-fire presentations from the holster, and then run a live-fire qualification course in your usual clothes. Many agencies require requalification after equipment changes; check yours. Keep the old holster until the new one is confirmed, and inspect hardware after the first few weeks of use.
Bottom line
Value-oriented duty holsters do their job when they match the gun, meet the policy and are trained until automatic. The Blackhawk L2D and the Uncle Mike's PRO-2 fit that description for the pistols named in their listings. For anything beyond that, ask the maker, and check your agency's approved-equipment list before buying.
Editorial note: This is an independent editorial overview built from manufacturer specifications and publicly available information. We have not performed hands-on testing of the products discussed, and nothing here is a performance guarantee. Verify specifications, compatibility and legality for your own situation.
Frequently asked questions
What does L2D mean in Blackhawk's naming?
Level 2 Duty. It describes the holster's intended retention tier, but manufacturers define levels differently, so confirm on the product page.
Which Glock models does the Uncle Mike's PRO-2 listing cover?
The listing names the Glock 17, 19, 22, 23, 31, 32 and 36. Verify fit for your exact model and generation.
Can either holster carry a weapon light?
The listings do not say. Light-bearing holsters are molded for specific lights, so ask the maker before assuming a lit gun will fit.
Are value-oriented duty holsters good enough for patrol?
That depends on the retention level, fit and your agency's policy. A holster that meets policy, fits the gun and is trained until automatic is serving its purpose.
Related reading
Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links to Ammunition Depot. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Our editorial choices are not influenced by commissions. Check current price, stock and specifications directly with the retailer.